The Master and Court

Our Master for 2021-2022 is Margaret Coates

Margaret is proud of being a member of the Worshipful Company of Plaisterers and its 3rd Lady Master in eight years, succeeding Alderman Alison Gowman. She became a Liveryman in 2009; a Court Assistant in 2015 and a Warden in 2018.

She served on the Membership Committee for six years helping develop the important and positive work that has over time produced a younger, more diverse and inclusive membership. As Upper Warden, she embarked on a Young Livery Group initiative, with the aim of giving younger members relevance, responsibility and purpose, which in time will produce freshness and innovation to progression within the Company.

Margaret was born in the London Borough of Lambeth; grew up in the London Borough of Southwark and educated in South London. In 1967 she commenced her long career in insurance, working for a company based then in Old Jewry, Cheapside, before relocating to Manchester in 1973. She remained in Manchester for 20 years, during which time she became the Chair of the Manchester Claims Management Association and an Associate with the Academy of Experts. In 1993 she returned to London, to take up the position of UK Claims Manager with an International Insurance Company. In 1997 she changed roles and moved to Lloyds of London, before retiring in 2009.

During her year as Master, she will be promoting her Charity, The Children’s Society and a challenging project linked to County Lines and children and young people trafficked for the purpose of criminal exploitation. The project will be based in the London Borough of Newham, an area of London where the Worshipful Company of Plaisterers has a strong connection through its affiliation with 282 (East Ham) Air Cadets. Margaret’s association with the Children’s Society stretches back to her Lambeth roots, raising funds for the orphanages run then by the Society.

She is delighted that her long-time colleague and friend, Geoffrey Tattersall, QC has agreed to be her Consort.

Since retiring, Margaret has embraced livery life; travelled widely, including three safaris in Namibia, Botswana and South Africa; several visits to Australia and New Zealand and many rail journeys throughout Europe and Scandinavia, crossing the Arctic Circle. She enjoys the theatre, the cultural life of London, good food and wine, full use of her National Trust and English Heritage memberships and the company of her family and friends.

Read the Master’s Robing Speech

Find out more about The Master’s Charity

Master Plaisterer

The Court 2021-22


The Court

Margaret Coates

Deputy Master
Alderman Alison Gowman*

Upper Warden
Stephen Gilbert

Renter Warden
Anthony Mitchell

Colonel Garth Manger OBE

Honorary Chaplain
The Very Revd Charles Taylor

Assistant Clerk
Ali Mackey

Jamie Wallis


Robert Dalrymple*
J Hubert Lacey*
Peter Baker*
Gary Morley*
De Bradshaw*
Michael Jones*
Bill Mahony*
Terence Wright*
Richard Hanney*
Timothy Cooke OBE*
James Minett
John Telling
David Botley
David Hill-Kelly
Jon Randall
Rohit Nathaniel
Adam Edwards
Heather Dix
Sue Spurling
Timothy Butcher (Additional)
Jon Riley (Additional)

*denotes Past Master

Past Masters Emeritus

Ronald Jordan*
Julian Dalrymple*
Hugh Kersey*
Ernest Pilgrim*
Bryan Lincoln*
Robert Faulkner*
Christopher Towlson*
Peter Cook*
Reginald Denby*
Alan Turner*
Robin Doran*
Michael Lepper*
Michael Hall*

*denotes Past Master

Assistants Emeritus
Graham Withers
John Mills
Christopher Money
Andrew Popat
Phillip Holliday

Clerks Emeritus
Hilary Machtus
Nigel Bamping

Chief Steward
David Jarman

Stewards 2018-2022
Timothy Scott
Archin Talpade

Stewards 2019-2023
Richard Walker
Bill Welch
Andrew York

Stewards 2020-2023
Chris Mackey

Stewards 2020-2024
Louise Laprun

Richard Grove

Royal Liveryman
HRH The Duchess of Cornwall GCVO

Honorary Liverymen
Sir Francis McWilliams, GBE
Former Alderman of the Ward of Aldersgate,
Sheriff of London 1988-89,
Lord Mayor of London 1992-93

Nicholas Anstee
Alderman of the Ward of Aldersgate,
Sheriff of London 2003-04,
Lord Mayor of London 2009-10

Plaisterers Hall Limited

Robert Dalrymple (Chairman)
Tim Stokes
Timothy Cooke OBE
Terence Wright
Colonel Garth Manger OBE (Secretary)

From left to right:
MASTER Margaret Coates • UPPER WARDEN Stephen Gilbert • RENTER WARDEN Anthony Mitchell • DEPUTY MASTER Alison Gowman