The Master

Our Master for 2023-2024 is Tony Mitchell

Tony has been a member of the Worshipful Company of Plaisterers since 1992 having been invited to join the Company by his father-in-law, Ralph Vickers (Master 1982 and Clerk to the Company 1996 - 2002).

Tony has served on both the Members and Industry Committees and has been a member of the Court of Assistants before progressing through Renter Warden and Upper Warden to assume the responsibilities of Master of the Company 2023 - 2024.

Tony's professional life began with an apprenticeship in the Telecommunications industry before moving into Computing and then Project Management. Tony has been a self employed Project Manager since 1998 and has managed a number of multi-million pound IT projects for City institutions in that time.

Tony is strong in his support of Apprenticeships and access to education in general and in supporting the Plastering industry in this area in particular. During his year as Master, Tony will be focusing on supporting recruitment and training within the plastering industry and helping to develop an industry wide recruitment strategy.

To relax, Tony is a keen skier, has been a bee keeper and is trying to spend more time walking and travelling when time permits.

Wendy, Tony's Consort, has taught dance, focusing on ballet, since completing her own training at the Arts Educational School, London (ArtsEd) and is supporting Tony in his year as Master. Sadly, Tony's dance skills are not what Wendy would like.

Stephen Gilbert


Past Masters from 2000

  • 2000-2001 Peter Cook
  • 2001-2002 Alan Turner
  • 2002-2003 Robin Doran
  • 2003-2004 Michael Lepper
  • 2004-2005 David Holliday
  • 2005-2006 Michael Hall
  • 2006-2007 Nicholas Carr
  • 2007-2008 Nicholas Carr
  • 2008-2009 Reginald Denby
  • 2009-2010 Robert Dalrymple
  • 2010-2011 J Hubert Lacey
  • 2011-2012 Peter Baker
  • 2012-2013 Gary Morley
  • 2013-2014 De Bradshaw
  • 2014-2015 Michael Jones
  • 2015-2016 Bill Mahony
  • 2016-2017 Terry Wright
  • 2017-2018 Richard Hanney
  • 2018-2019 Timothy Cooke OBE
  • 2019-2020 Alderman Alison Gowman
  • 2020-2021 Margaret Coates
  • 2021-2022 Margaret Coates
  • 2022-2023 Stephen Gilbert